CASA Training Schedule

Virtual Training

Currently all classroom training sessions are held via teleconferencing technology (Zoom). The training also consists of at-home online assignments. You’ll need a computer (ideally with a camera) and internet access.

When we can continue in-person training(tentatively scheduled for the summer and fall classes), it will be comprised of four evenings from 6 PM to 9 PM, one Saturday from 9 AM to 3 PM, and a weekday morning courtroom observation at the Vel R. Phillips Juvenile Justice Center in Wauwatosa. The training is comprised of at-home online assignments (16 hours) and in-person classroom sessions (18 hours).  All in-person classroom training sessions are held at the Kids Matter office near downtown Milwaukee.

Applications are now being accepted for training. Background and reference checks and a personal interview are required for all volunteer applicants. Independent study and/or small group training options are available for volunteers who have conflicts with Saturday training due to work or religious obligations.

2022 Training Dates

Winter Training Cycle
Tuesday, January 25, 6:00pm to 9:00pm
Tuesday, February 1, 6:00pm to 9:00pm
Tuesday, February 8, 6:00pm to 9:00pm
Tuesday, February 15, 6:00pm to 9:00pm
Tuesday, February 22, 6:00pm to 9:00pm
Spring Training Cycle
Wednesday, April 13, 6:00pm to 9:00pm
Wednesday, April 20, 6:00pm to 9:00pm
Wednesday, April 27, 6:00pm to 9:00pm
Wednesday, May 4, 6:00pm to 9:00pm
Wednesday, May 11, 6:00pm to 9:00pm
Summer Training Cycle
Tuesday, July 5, 6:00pm to 9:00pm
Tuesday, July 12, 6:00pm to 9:00pm
Saturday, July 16, 9:00am to 3:00pm
Tuesday, July 19, 6:00pm to 9:00pm
Tuesday, July 26, 6:00pm to 9:00pm
Fall Training Cycle
Wednesday, October 5, 6:00pm to 9:00pm
Wednesday, October 12, 6:00pm to 9:00pm
Saturday, October 15, 9:00am to 3:00pm
Wednesday, October 19, 6:00pm to 9:00pm
Wednesday, October 26, 6:00pm to 9:00pm

Volunteer Requirements

Our minimum requirements are that CASA volunteers are at least 21 years old and be able to:

  • Communicate effectively and be objective
  • Attend a 34 hour training program
  • Commit to 14 hours per month for fifteen months

Our volunteers are everyday people from all walks of life with a variety of professional, educational and ethnic backgrounds.  Most of our volunteers work full time and are able to see the child(ren) nights and weekends. What they have in common is a desire to make a difference in a child’s life. Would you like to make that difference? Apply today for an upcoming training!

Volunteer