CASA Training Schedule

Training

Classroom training sessions are held at the KIDS MATTER offices just north of downtown Milwaukee. The training also consists of at-home online assignments. You’ll need a computer and internet access.

In-person training is comprised of four evenings from 6 PM to 9 PM, one Saturday from 9 AM to 3 PM, and a weekday morning courtroom observation at the Vel R. Phillips Juvenile Justice Center in Wauwatosa. The training is comprised of at-home online assignments (16 hours) and in-person classroom sessions (18 hours).  

Applications are now being accepted for training. Background and reference checks and a personal interview are required for all volunteer applicants. Independent study and/or small group training options are available for volunteers who have conflicts with Saturday training due to work or religious obligations.

2023 Training Dates

Winter Training Cycle

Wednesday, January 25, 6:00pm to 9:00pm
Wednesday, February 1, 6:00pm to 9:00pm
Monday, February 6 – Friday, February 10 – tentative courtroom observations
Saturday, February 11, 9:00am to 3:00pm
Wednesday, February 15, 6:00pm to 9:00pm

Wednesday, February 22, 6:00pm to 9:00pm

Spring Training Cycle

Wednesday, April 12, 6:00pm to 9:00pm
Wednesday, April 19, 6:00pm to 9:00pm
Monday, April 24 – Friday, April 28 – tentative courtroom observations
Saturday, April 29, 9:00am to 3:00pm
Wednesday, May 3, 6:00pm to 9:00pm

Wednesday, May 10, 6:00pm to 9:00pm

Summer Training Cycle

Wednesday, July 5, 6:00pm to 9:00pm
Wednesday, July 12, 6:00pm to 9:00pm
Monday, July 17 – Friday, July 21 – tentative courtroom observations

Saturday, July 22, 9:00am to 3:00pm
Wednesday, July 26, 6:00pm to 9:00pm

Wednesday, August 2, 6:00pm to 9:00pm

Fall Training Cycle

Wednesday, October 4, 6:00pm to 9:00pm
Wednesday, October 11, 6:00pm to 9:00pm
Monday, October 16 – Friday, October 20 – tentative courtroom observations

Saturday, October 21, 9:00am to 3:00pm

Wednesday, October 25, 6:00pm to 9:00pm

Wednesday, November 1, 6:00pm to 9:00pm

Volunteer Requirements

Our minimum requirements are that CASA volunteers are at least 21 years old and be able to:

  • Communicate effectively and be objective
  • Attend a 34 hour training program
  • Commit to 14 hours per month for fifteen months

Our volunteers are everyday people from all walks of life with a variety of professional, educational and ethnic backgrounds.  Most of our volunteers work full time and are able to see the child(ren) nights and weekends. What they have in common is a desire to make a difference in a child’s life. Would you like to make that difference? Apply today for an upcoming training!

Volunteer

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.